AFSCME Power In Action Committee Announces its Statewide and Local Endorsements

Columbus, OH — On Saturday, July 23, 2022, the AFSCME Power in Action Committee (APIAC) held its biennial legislative conference. It was here that AFSCME Ohio Council 8’s APAIC regional committee members endorsed Ohio state legislators, Appellate Court judges, and Ohio’s US Congressional candidates. Ohio APIAC voted unanimously to endorse statewide candidates including Nan Whaley for Governor of Ohio, Tim Ryan for US Senate, and Judge Jennifer Brunner for Chief Justice of Ohio Supreme Court.

With so much at stake, AFSCME Ohio Council 8 President Sean Grayson was proud of the work the local committees have done to endorse candidates who are committed to supporting the work of Ohio’s city, county, and municipal employees.

AFSCME’s Power In Action Committee is composed of AFSCME Ohio Council 8 and AFSCME Retirees Chapter 1184 table officers from 17 different committees across Ohio, as well as one West Virginia based committee. These committees focus on grassroots legislative action to further legislative power, while communicating the union’s legislative endorsements to our current and retired members.

The following are Ohio APIAC endoresed candidates in statewide races. Click the link at the bottom of the page to see the full list of Ohio APIAC endorsed candidates.

Tim Ryan — U.S. Senate

Nan Whaley — Ohio Governor

Jennifer Brunner — Ohio Supreme Court Chief Justice

Terri Jamison — Ohio Supreme Court Associate Justice

Marilyn Zayas — Ohio Supreme Court Associate Justice

Jeff Crossman — Ohio Attorney General

Chelsea Clark — Ohio Secretary of State

Taylor Sappington — Ohio Auditor

Schott Scherzer — Ohio Treasurer